GuideSelling on marketplaces
Selling on Target Plus: invitation, listing rules and images
How Target Plus works for sellers in 2026: invitation and the application, the requirements integrators relay, referral fees, fulfilment within 24 hours, titles, bullets and descriptions, image sizes, and why a word-free image set is the safe choice.

On this page
Target Plus is Target's online marketplace for third-party sellers, and it is invitation only: a seller applies through Target's seller application at plus.target.com, and Target aims to reply within 30 days with a rejection, a deferral or an approval, as Shopify's guide of 23 September 2026 relays. Guides relay that Target Plus sellers need a business registered in the US with a physical US address, a domestic bank account and an EIN, keep their stock (no dropshipping), ship orders within 24 hours, and pay a referral rate of 5% to 15% by category with no setup or monthly fee. Listings follow Target's content rules as integrators relay them: titles of up to 100 characters, a square main image on white of at least 1,000 pixels, and no claims or advertising language in the copy.
What is Target Plus?
Target Plus is the marketplace on target.com where invited third-party sellers list products beside Target's range. Shopify's guide describes Target Plus as "an invite-only marketplace that partners with US-based, third-party retailers". Target's partner help sits behind a partner sign-in, so this guide works from the integrators and guides that connect sellers to Target Plus, and names each one beside its rule.
How do you get invited to sell on Target Plus?
A seller joins Target Plus by applying and being accepted. Feedonomics says "Target Plus operates on an invite-only basis" and that brands can "fill out Target's seller application form" to be considered. Shopify's guide describes the steps:
- Check the eligibility list on plus.target.com.
- Complete the online seller application at plus.target.com/apply.
- Give the business details, such as the address and tax ID numbers, list the other marketplaces the business sells on, and submit product data: descriptions, categories and the number of unique SKUs.
Target aims to update an applicant within 30 days, and the update may be a rejection, a deferral to a later date, or an approval. Shopify's guide relays that approved sellers typically take three to six weeks to reach onboarding, and must list 75% of the agreed SKUs within 75 days of signing. If Target sees a good fit, "a Target team member may reach out" to start contracting and onboarding, as Feedonomics puts it.
What are the requirements to sell on Target Plus?
Guides relay these requirements for Target Plus sellers:
| Requirement | As relayed |
|---|---|
| Business location | A physical business address registered in the US, and shipping from within the US |
| Bank account | A domestic bank account |
| Identifiers | A W-9 form, an EIN from the IRS and a DUNS number |
| Stock | Sellers hold the stock they sell; no dropshipping |
| Shipping | Orders picked, packed and shipped within 24 hours, delivered within five business days, through approved carriers such as UPS, USPS or FedEx |
| Costs | The seller covers fulfilment costs, including warehousing, shipping and returns |
| Barcodes | A unique GS1-approved barcode for each SKU, matching the item record on every product shipped |
Target Plus sellers can manage feeds, stock and orders through one of Target's approved integration partners, as Feedonomics notes.
How much does it cost to sell on Target Plus?
Shopify's guide relays no setup fee and no monthly seller fee on Target Plus, and a referral rate on each sale that "ranges from 5% to 15%, depending on the specific product category". The seller's costs of fulfilment, warehousing, shipping and returns come on top.
What are the Target Plus listing requirements?
Zentail's requirements for Target Plus, dated 30 April 2026, relay the shape of each part of a listing:
| Part | Target Plus requirement, as relayed |
|---|---|
| Title | No more than 100 characters, with no keyword stuffing; a suggested order of brand, size grouping, item description, item type, style or model number or product name, size or colour, and count |
| Bullets | At least two structured bullet points |
| Description | A long description in paragraph form, longer than 50 characters |
| Copy | No URLs or hyperlinks, and no claims or advertising language |
| Compliance | Legal confirmation for applicable item types, such as Prop 65 or California Title 24 |
| Category assets | Category expectations such as size charts for apparel and videos for TVs |
Zentail notes that its bullet length wording mixes words and characters, so confirm the exact bullet limit with Target. SPS Commerce's troubleshooting guide lists the reasons Target Plus rejects listings, among them claims without documents, a brand that does not match the title, and words that do not match the item's data.
The article on Prop 65 for online sellers covers the California warning Target asks sellers to confirm.
What image requirements does Target Plus have?
Target Plus image requirements, as integrators relay them:
| Image rule | Zentail (30 April 2026) | ChannelEngine | Feedonomics |
|---|---|---|---|
| Size | 1,000 to 5,000 pixels a side, 300 dpi minimum | Square, 1,200 to 6,000 pixels; 2,400 preferred | At least 1,000 by 1,000 pixels |
| Main image | Square, on white, filling the frame | On white | Square, on white |
| Number | At least one; three preferred | Not stated here | At least three per product |
| Formats | JPG, PNG, TIF or PSD, in RGB | JPEG preferred; TIFF, PSD, PNG | Not stated |
| Words on images | Text on additional images must follow ADA accessibility guidelines | No added words on any image | Not stated |
The integrators disagree on words on additional images, which makes a word-free set the safe choice for Target Plus. A square image of 2,400 pixels a side on white meets every size in the table. The article on product image sizes for every marketplace compares Target Plus with the other marketplaces.
What does a Target Plus listing look like?
A made-up example for a ceramic planter, written to the relayed rules:
Title (under 100 characters): Brand Ceramic Planter, Medium, Matte White, 6 Inch, 1 Count
Bullets: Matte glazed ceramic with a drainage hole and saucer. Fits plants in pots up to 6 inches wide.
Description: A paragraph on the planter's size, material, drainage and care, with no claims, no links and no advertising language.
The title follows the relayed order of brand, item description, size, colour and count, and every fact in it must match the item's data in the feed, because a mismatch between words and data is among the reasons Target Plus rejects listings.
How does a Target Plus listing differ from Amazon and Walmart?
A Target Plus listing can start from the same product facts as an Amazon or Walmart listing, but each marketplace sets different limits, so the words need shaping for each one.
| Part | Target Plus, as relayed | Amazon | Walmart |
|---|---|---|---|
| Title length | Up to 100 characters | 75 characters or fewer in most categories since 27 July 2026 | No more than 150 characters |
| Bullets | At least two | Bullet points, with restricted symbols and phrases | Three to ten key features of up to 80 characters |
| Description | A paragraph longer than 50 characters | A description, or A+ content for brand owners | One paragraph of at least 150 words |
| Words on images | A word-free set is the safe choice | Allowed after the main image, as Amazon's image rules explain | Images "shouldn't include any claims or promotional language" |
A title written for Walmart's 150 characters needs cutting for Target Plus's 100, and a title written for Amazon's 75 fits both. Facts must stay identical everywhere, because Target Plus rejects listings whose words do not match the item's data.
How should Target Plus copy handle claims?
Target Plus copy should carry no claim the seller cannot document. Zentail relays that sellers remove claims and advertising language from the copy before submission, and SPS Commerce lists claims without documents among the reasons Target Plus rejects listings. A claim such as "eco-friendly", "non-toxic" or "clinically proven" either goes, or goes in with the document behind it ready to send. Specific, checkable facts, such as the material, the size and what is in the box, are the safe words on Target Plus as on every marketplace.
What makes a Target Plus application stronger?
Guides point to four things that make a Target Plus application stronger: proven performance on other marketplaces, reliable fulfilment within Target's 24-hour window, complete product data, and products that fit Target's brand standards. A seller with clean, consistent listings on Amazon or Walmart already has most of the product data Target's application asks for, from descriptions and categories to SKU counts.
A Target Plus checklist
- A US-registered business with a US address, a domestic bank account, an EIN, a W-9 and a DUNS number.
- Stock held by the seller, shipped within 24 hours and delivered within five business days.
- Each product priced after a referral rate of 5% to 15% and fulfilment costs.
- Titles of up to 100 characters, at least two bullets, a paragraph description, no claims or links.
- Square images on white, at least 1,000 pixels, ideally 2,400, with no added words.
- A GS1-approved barcode for each SKU.
- Prop 65 and other legal confirmations ready.
How Commicorn helps
- Target Plus images with no added words: your product from your photos, with images that carry words left out of your Target folder.
- Target Plus copy from your facts, the same facts as your other marketplaces, so the words match the item's data.
- One set of facts for Target Plus, Amazon, Walmart and the rest, which is what Target's application asks you to show.
Commicorn makes Target Plus images and copy with your other marketplaces. Start free.
Questions sellers ask
Can anyone sell on Target Plus?
No. Target Plus is invitation only; sellers apply through Target's seller application and Target decides whom to invite.
How long does a Target Plus application take?
Target aims to update an applicant within 30 days, and approved sellers typically take three to six weeks to reach onboarding, as Shopify's guide relays.
What are the Target Plus fees?
Guides relay no setup fee and no monthly fee, with a referral rate of 5% to 15% on each sale depending on the category.
Can I dropship on Target Plus?
No. Feedonomics relays that all Target Plus sellers must hold the stock they sell and that dropshipping is not allowed.
How long can a Target Plus title be?
Zentail relays a Target Plus title limit of 100 characters, with no keyword stuffing.
Sources
- Shopify blog: What is Target Plus? (23 Sep 2026)
- Feedonomics: Target Plus seller FAQs
- Zentail: Requirements for Selling on Target+ (30 Apr 2026)
- ChannelEngine: Target Plus marketplace guide
- SPS Commerce Fulfillment Help Center: Troubleshooting Guide for Common Target Plus Errors (31 Jul 2025)
- Amazon Seller Forums (News_Amazon): Updates to improve your product titles begin on July 27
- Walmart Marketplace Learn: Product detail page overview (updated 6 Oct 2026)


